Monday, September 21, 2009

Space Commission

The Department of Space and space commission were established in June 1972 with their headquarters in Banglore, for the purpose of rapid development in space technology and its application. The major establishment under the department of space are:
1. Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thumba near Trivandrum (KErala);
2. Sriharikota Range(SHAR) in Andhra Pradesh;
3. Space Application Centre at Thumba;
4. Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad (Gujarat).

IT is engaged in the development of indigenous capability in advanced aerospace engineering, rockets and satellite as also the development of capability within the country for various other space applications using satellites including remote sensing, meteorology, geodesy and navigation and establishment of facilities required for these activities.

1 comment: